Sriracha Chicken

Sriracha Roasted Chicken with Sriracha Gravy

Yes, you read that right. Sriracha Roasted Chicken with Sriracha Gravy. When I saw this recipe posted by the wildly talented people at White on Rice Couple I knew I had to make this dish. Now. Pronto.

Saga of the Drunken Chicken

Although you’d think after my last experience with a chicken (heretofore to be known as the ‘raging ball of fire’) that I would stay away from anything involving chicken. Granted that experience did scar me in a way. Made me question my abilities as a cook. But then I got over it.

Make this now!

You must make this chicken. Don’t ask questions. Just go out and buy all the ingredients that you don’t happen to have in your pantry. I’m going to assume you have Sriracha. If not, you will now.  Heretofore and for always you will have sriracha in your pantry. Promise. It it truly the miracle sauce.

The sriarcha gravy is incredible, addictive, savory, amazing. So incredible I want to roll around in it. Dab it behind my ears. I kept eating spoonfuls of it and dipping random things into it. I have to say I’m pretty obsessed with the gravy.

The chicken itself is also totally brilliant. You baste the chicken with the addictive sriracha base. And then the remaining base becomes the gravy.

Follow the instructions!

This recipe is somewhat involved, but not really.  You must follow all of the instructions. Don’t get all creative on me and decide to omit or add something. This recipe is perfection.

Brine the chicken. If you don’t want to go to all the trouble of mixing water, salt and sugar to make your brine (that is a bit lame if you ask me. but I’m not you), buy a pre-brined chicken. Trader Joe’s has them. Brining makes the chicken extra tender and juicy.

Make the gravy exactly as instructed. I know it involves adding the drippings (aka fat) from the chicken to the marinade. It’s just fat people. Get over it. It’s not like you’re drinking a cup of the gravy. You’re just covering the chicken with tablespoons of the stuff. It’s not that many calories and it’s not going to kill you. Did I mention…get over it. You will thank me once you taste the gravy.

Sriacha Roasted Chicken with Sriracha Gravy

ingredients:

  • 1 whole Chicken (buy a brined chicken at Trader Joe’s. totally worth it)
  • Kosher Salt
  • fresh cracked Black Pepper
  • 1/4 cup Olive
  • 1/3 cup Ketchup
  • 2 Tablespoons Rice Wine Vinegar
  • 1/4 cup (60ml) Sriracha or other hot sauce, to taste (for the record there is no other hot sauce)
  • 3 Tablespoons Fish Sauce

gravy

  • 1/4 cup Flour
  • 2 cups Chicken Stock heated to a near simmer (you don’t have to get all crazy and culinary and use stock that you made yourself. the organic pacific kind that comes in a box is more than good enough.)

directions:

  1. Rinse chicken and place in a large bowl. Cover with a brine. (Any brine will really do. Just ‘google’ brine recipe and you’re good to go)
  2. Place in fridge for at least a couple of hours or overnight

Have I mentioned that’s it’s imperative to follow the instructions exactly? Brine the freakin chicken. It’s not that hard. 

  1. Preheat the oven to 425° F.
  2. Remove chicken from brine and pat dry. Season the chicken with salt and pepper. (I was so excited to baste the chicken with the sriracha marinade that I may have forgotten to season the chicken. no big deal)
  3. Combine the oil, ketchup, rice wine vinegar, sriracha, and fish sauce in a bowl. Mix well.
  4. Baste the chicken with the sauce. Place chicken in a baking dish and cover with aluminum foil.
  5. Roast for 40 minutes. Remove foil and baste chicken again with sauce. Return chicken to oven, uncovered, and roast for another 30 minutes, or until juices run clear when you cut between the leg and the thigh or the temperature in the thickest part of the thigh reads 165°F when probed (the word ‘probed’ makes me think of aliens. bygones) with an instant read thermometer.
  6. Remove from the oven and allow to rest for at least 15 minutes.

Once again I’m going to remind you that it’s imperative to follow the instructions exactly. No skimping on ‘the juices’ from the chicken. Use every last bit.

  1. Pour the juices from the baking dish into a saucepan. Add the remaining basting sauce to the saucepan. Over medium/high heat, whisk in the flour. Whisk in the chicken stock and simmer until the gravy thickens, about 3-4 minutes.
  2. Carve and serve the chicken with the sriracha gravy and with the fresh herbs generously sprinkled over the top. (as for the fresh herbs, chopped cilantro or mint would be fabulous!)

You will have leftover chicken and gravy. Unless of course you secretly ate the rest of the gravy later that night when everyone was asleep. The next day I made Sriracha Chicken Tacos with Sriracha Gravy. And I still had some leftover gravy so the next night for dinner…I marinated some shrimp in the aforementioned gravy. Sautéed the shrimp. Boiled some noodles. Covered the noodles with the remaining gravy. Topped it with shrimp. Voila. A meal fit for Master Chef.

Amazingly fab recipe courtesy of White on Rice Couple.

Image courtesy of the Interwebs and Steamy Kitchen.

Hopefully I followed the  rules of their website and have not done anything remotely violating their copyright. Because I would feel bad and I don’t want to get a cease and desist order.

Leave a Reply

