Am I one of them?

This weekend I read an article in The New York Times – ‘How Depressives Surf the Web.’ After reading the article I started to wonder if my Internet usage indicated that I was indeed depressed and in need of some therapy, a twelve-step program or abundant amounts of chocolate and wine? I have all the signs. I check my email compulsively (then again, what constitutes compulsive?). I watch lots of videos (addicted to the show Revenge and Just Say Yes to the Dress. Would it be different if I was watching Public Television?). I switch frequently between Internet applications – from games to downloads to chat. Which apparently indicates difficulty in concentrating.

I’m also currently unemployed, have been looking for a job for the past year and am currently entering week five of recovery for a fractured foot which has confined  me to my home and talking to my three dogs. Wow, just reading that made me depressed.

Today I’m going to see if I can contain myself and step away from the computer and not look at facebook or gmail until lunch time. This is going to be difficult. Must check email. Must check cute cat videos on facebook. This seems to be more of an addiction issue rather than a depressive one. I’ll let you know how it goes.

Until next time…Moose out

Leave a Reply

