Job Growth Remains Tepid

Is using the word ‘tepid’ to describe the current unemployment situation an attempt to make it seem not so bad? Tepid is such a passive, weak word. Moderately warm. Luke warm. Lacking in passion force or zest. Like lemon zest?

Being one of the 8.2% of those unemployed in America it certainly isn’t making me feel any better. I’m not particularly fond of being a statistic. Especially this one.

I know I’m suppose to keep a stiff upper lip. Remain all positive and enthusiastic. Otherwise employers will see me as a bad hiring choice. Well you know what? I’m not feeling all that positive and enthusiastic at the moment. I’ve sent out more resumes than I can begin to count. I’ve networked. I’m working with headhunters. I’m on every possible job list known to humankind. And yet I remain unemployed.

I’m tired of being patient. I’m tired of receiving rejection emails from services like ‘the hiring thing.’ I’m tired of not being contacted at all. I’m tired of filling out ridiculous applications when my resume should suffice. I’m tired of being rejected based on a piece of paper and some key words that I may or may not have used. I’m tired of going on interviews never again to hear from said company. Quite frankly I’m tired of being jerked around.

I know that it’s a tough economy. I know everyone’s having a hard time. But what is it I have to do?

When did I become the least employable person in America?

2 thoughts on “Job Growth Remains Tepid

  1. Oh Moose, it seems to be batten down the hatches time for all of us. I know you don’t want pity, unless it’s a perk to a wonderful career opportunity, but hey, it’s really all I have. There’s still an opening at Howe You Like It. It involves writing Caldecott Award winning copy for some dazzling illustrations. Miss you, but love getting 23 status updates a day from you…

    1. How do I apply for the Caldecott Award winning copywriter position?

      As you know I’m not one for pity. Although this whole batten down the hatches thing is getting old.

      Miss you and your quirky self. No one makes me laugh like you do. Wish I could be in the audience on Sunday night. You’re going to kill it!!!!

Leave a Reply

