Make this now. Because I said so. And it’s really good and easy.

Since I just blew my chance to be on Anthony Bourdain and Nigella Lawson’s new reality cooking show (because of course I would have been selected as a contestant given my winning personality, wit and crazy cooking skills and gone on to win the whole shebang which then would have led to my own cooking show, appearances on Ellen and Jimmy Fallon and me on the red carpet at some event). A girl can dream. So…since I won’t be hanging with Tony and Nigella and I’m obsessed with cooking, shows about cooking, cook books, chefs and the like I’m just going to create my own little reality cooking show and master things like gnocchi, a fruit tart, risotto, the perfect poached egg. Stay tuned.  Until next time…Moose out.

Heirloom Tomato Pesto with a Hint of Sage Butter Sauce Over Gnocchi

15 Basil leaves

4 Heirloom tomatoes (yes it really makes a difference in the overall taste. Richer and yummier)

4 Cloves of garlic

1 T unsalted slice almonds

1 stick of butter (I did not use the entire stick of butter because at my advanced age I worry about clogging my arteries)

5 Sage leaves

1 handful chopped Italian parsley

1/2 c fresh Parmesan

Heirloom Tomato Pesto: Combine basil, parsley, heirloom tomatoes, almonds, olive oil, and garlic in food processor and purify. Add parmesan, salt and pepper and pulse three to four time

Cook one stick of butter (if you don’t have butter issues. I used about a 1/4 of a stick and it was delish!) until browned. Add sage and remove from heat.

Toss the gnocchi in the browned butter sauce and place in a serving bowl. Spoon heirloom tomato basil sauce over the top of the gnocchi and sprinkle fresh parm and serve.

Recipe courtesy of http://www.food52.com

Photo courtesy of Steve Moose – wildly talented photographer

2 thoughts on “Make this now. Because I said so. And it’s really good and easy.

Leave a Reply

