When life hands you blueberries…make muffins

 

What to do with eleven pounds of blueberries?

There would be a fabulous shot of fresh of of the oven blueberry muffins if only my iPhone would cooperate. For now pretend. You know you can smell all that yummy blueberry goodness.

That doesn’t quite have the same cliched, inspirational feel of  ‘when life hands you lemons, make lemonade’ does it? Actually being handed blueberries is a very nice and fabulous thing.

Last week my super nice neighbor and her extremely polite and well behaved boys asked me to go blue berry picking with them. Despite living on the east coast and going to Maine every year I’d never had the blueberry picking experience. So off I went.

I now understand the phrase ‘low hanging fruit’ and why it means what it means. Why does that phrase seem so very naughty?

The bushes were dripping with berries. My bucket and I went to town. Quite honestly I couldn’t seem to stop myself. More blueberries please. As a result of my overzealous picking I ended up with eleven pounds of blueberries. Yes eleven. I also ended up with blueberry stains on my bum because it’s just much more comfortable to pick blueberries while sitting.

Now the conundrum…what the hell am I going to do with eleven pounds of blueberries???

It made me think of that scene in Forrest Gump (actually not one of my favorite movies. not that it matters) when the shrimper starts listing of all the things you can do with shrimp. Fried shrimp. Shrimp Gumbo. Shrimp Chowder. Shrimp and Grits. Grilled Shrimp. It actually inspired me. What can I do with blueberries other than make muffins, pie or jam? Granted I froze most of them and shoved them in my inadequately sized freezer.

Of course I made blue berry muffins because that’s expected. This is the recipe I used. Good, but didn’t love. I want a more crumbly, crackley, caramelized sugar kind of top. Next batch.

http://www.joyofbaking.com/muffins/BlueberryStreuselMuffins.html

But I also made blueberry salsa and brought it to a BBQ. Blueberry salsa?? Don’t make a face. It’s delicious. This is the recipe I used…

http://www.yummly.com/recipe/Maine-Wild-Blueberry-Salsa-Recipezaar

Next…Blueberry Ketchup, Blueberry Mojitos, Blueberry Ice Tea, Blueberry Infused Vodka, Blueberry Scones, Blueberry Trifle, Fried Blueberries (everything tastes better when it’s fried), Grilled Blueberries…okay I digress.

Until next time…Moose out

Leave a Reply

