Help me I’m melting…and don’t want to cook!

Love me some Trader Joe’s

It’s about five hundred gajillion, billion degrees here in Portland. We have no central air. I’m hot, sweaty and having a particularly bad hair day. This does not please me in the least. I should be hiding out in an air conditioned bookstore looking all erudite and literary. Or perhaps at the movies watching a marathon of Bergman films. Actually I don’t know that I’d actually watch a marathon of Bergman films. I think I’d find it rather depressing. Quite honestly I don’t even know if I’ve seen a Bergman film? I probably should get right on that. Does it count that I’ve seen Ingrid Bergman in a film? I digress.

So have I mentioned it’s hot? The concept of cooking, making a meal, turing on a stove, thinking about cooking does not appeal to me at the moment. I know we could do take out. But we did a lot of take out last week. And the idea of eating Indian or pizza when it’s five hundred gajillion billion degrees makes me feel all pinchy and sweaty.

While I like and prefer cooking from scratch I’ve become quite fond of the many things I can purchase from Trader Joe’s that are essentially done and just need to be grilled or heated up. I have to say I’m rather obsessed with Trader Joe’s and may quite possibly go there on a daily basis. Keep in mind I spend most of my day in the company of three dogs whose conversational skills are limited at best. So getting out and being around people keeps me from spiraling down an abyss of lonely. And there are always good samples at Trader Joe’s.

Sorry Danny Wegman. While I still love Wegmans from afar. My heart now belongs to Joe.

Back to tonight’s dinner. So tonight for dinner we’ll be enjoying Trader Joe’s Bool Kogi Korean Brand Sesame Marinated Boneless Beef Ribs (grilled to perfection by Mr. Moose), Jasmine Rice or perhaps Soba Noodles (I haven’t decided) and Misto alla Griglia – Marinated Grilled Eggplant and Zucchini (heated up in the microwave). I wonder if Misto alla Griglia really means Marinated Grilled Eggplant and Zucchini or it means Marinated Grilled Socks?

When this heatwave breaks and I’m having a better hair day I’ll go back to making dinner from scratch. Drizzling balsamic reductions. Plating with frizzled leeks. Until then…Bring it on Trader Joe’s. Until next time…Moose out

Leave a Reply

