Here’s to late bloomers and Happy Birthday Julia Child!!!!

“If you’re afraid of butter, use cream.”

Since I’m quite convinced that I’m a late bloomer and will do something fabulous in the second half of my life I look to Julia Child for inspiration. I was going to look to Georgia O’Keefe, but I’m a much better cook than I am a painter.

I remember being in Portland, Maine when I heard that she’d died. Very sad. A number of restaurants in Portland closed  for the day out of respect. Nice. I also remember watching her show on PBS when I was little. And the whole Dan Ackroyd bit on Saturday Night Live is priceless.

In fact I would like to be Julia Child. Who wouldn’t I suppose. Perhaps I could be the shorter, modern day version of Julia. The cook who drinks just a bit too much, ends up wearing bits and pieces of the meals she’s cooking because she’s so messy (although Julia was rather tidy wasn’t she), forgets to garnish the plate and slaps everything on while it’s at the table, doesn’t know how to poach an egg and would like to and loves to cook more than most anything else. It keeps me sane. Not everything mind you. But most anything. It really is my calling in life isn’t it? I just need to take her advice.

“Learn how to cook — try new recipes, learn from your mistakes, be fearless and above all have fun.”

One thought on “Here’s to late bloomers and Happy Birthday Julia Child!!!!

Leave a Reply

