Sideshow Eatery – Food Cart in Portland

While I’m not particularly fond of the word ‘eatery’ (I have issues with certain words) I became very, very fond of Sideshow Eatery, a food cart in downtown Portland.

What’s not to love about….a Seared Pork Belly (belly is a funny word. I told you I had issues), on a Pearl Bakery (yum) Baguette, Arugula, Sriracha Mayo and Pickled Red Plum Sandwich? Add an order of Pomme Frites (doesn’t that make my lunch sound so very fancy?) with Curry Ketchup and you have one amazing lunch!!! It’s  really no wonder that I’ve gained weight since I moved to Portland. I’m trying to work it off. The whole fractured foot incident got in the way of my fitness. But that’s a story for another time.

This sandwich is a brilliant combination of goodness. The slight heat of the Sriracha mayo. The bitterness of the arugula. The surprise of the pickled plums. The juicy, lick your fingers pork belly. It’s a substantial sandwich. And it’s so very, very good that you want to eat the whole thing, know you shouldn’t eat the whole thing because you’re so very full, but then you eat the whole thing anyways. Does it count that I didn’t eat all the pomme frites? As for the pomme frites…little nuggets of crunchy, salty goodness. Apparently these were Belgian Pommes Frites. I’m so very classy and Euro. They also serve Poutine (not a pretty word) but a delicious thing to put in your mouth. Beignets. A Caprice Sandwich with Heirloom Tomatoes and a PBJ with all homemade ingredients. I totally should have had their Chicory Coffee, but it’s kind of hot. Next time.

It’s located at SW 9th and Washington in downtown Portland. Go there now.

Until next time…Moose out

Leave a Reply

