Rum Club – Portland, OR. Another Happy Place.

Another Happy Place

I know, I know all my happy places involve food and alcohol. Is there anything really wrong with that? Thing is the ocean is also one of my most happiest places ever. But it’s even more happy if it involves a nice bottle of wine and snacks.

A few weeks ago we went to Rum Club for happy hour. There’s a lot of happy going on in this post. A hidden little gem on SE Sandy. It’s one of those places if you blink you’ll miss it. If you know where it is, while I would love to tell you to keep it a secret (which means more rum for me), this place is meant to be shared, so tell everyone you know.

The atmosphere reminded me a bit of Pegu Club in Soho. Also a bit difficult to find because I don’t believe there’s really a sign and the only evidence of Pegu Clubs’ existence is a very skinny door, with very skinny stairs leading up to a very cool bar. The original Pegu Club was an English Officers’ Club near the Gulf of Martaban, in Burma. As Kipling wrote, “this funny little club was always filled with lots of people, either on their way up or on their way down.” I think I could say the same of Rum Club. I totally expected for Hunter S. Thompson to walk through the door. But unfortunately he’s no longer with us so that’s not possible. But it would be really cool.

Rum Club is proper and old school and mixes its cocktails with love and finesse. Try the Rum Club Daiquiri  Bacardi 8 Aged Rum, Fresh Lime, Maraschino, Demerara Syrup, Angostura Bitters, Absinthe. Or the One Step Beyond! Mai Tai Rum Blend, Orgeat, Pineapple Gomme,Fresh Lime, Tiki Bitters, Absinthe, Pineapple Sage. I don’t even know what Pineapple Gomme is??? I have so much to learn.

And if rum isn’t your thing…definitely try the Champagne Manhattan. A happy hour special. A yummy blend of Rye, Punt e Mes (again I have no clue?) Bubbles and Orange Peel.

I’m not done yet because I haven’t mentioned the food. The happy hour snacks made me very happy. I didn’t think I could be so quite happy. I think I may be overdoing the whole ‘happy’ thing. Bygones. But there I was all giggly and happy. We had the Baby Back Ribs Plum Glaze, Cabbage Slaw, truly finger linking good in a way that you hope people aren’t watching you suck sauce off your hands. How gauche. The food highlight of the evening was the Smoked Brisket Sandwich with Braised Greens, Focaccia. We got one to share and it was so incredibly juicy, fabulous and mouthwatering we had to order another. Again I hope no one was privy to our gluttony.

http://rumclubpdx.com 

720 Southeast Sandy Boulevard  Portland, OR 97214
(503) 467-2469

Go there this weekend.

Until next time…Moose out

2 thoughts on “Rum Club – Portland, OR. Another Happy Place.

  1. Glad to see you two have scoped out sustainance there in Portland. I hope your foot is healed up and you haven’t crashed your car learning how to drive again. 🙂

    Keep taking care of each other and the 3 dogs.

    1. I’m glad you had a great time a the club. Here’s a few explanations for those menu items: Pineapple Gomme is a pineapple syrup that is made with gum arabic. The gimme give it extra viscosity and mouthfeel. Punt e mes is an Italian Vermouth that literally means point and a half. One point of sweet,a half point of bitter.
      Cheers!

Leave a Reply

