Chipotle Cravings

My addiction

Portland is a food mecca. Restaurants written up in The NY Times, Bon Appetit, featured on the Food Channel. Luce was named one of the Top 10 Restaurants in the country. We have more than our fair share of food celebs like Andy Ricker (his restaurants are on the left and right coasts) and Natalie Pomeroy (she was on Top Chef Masters) to name just two. Food carts that rival some of the finest restaurants anywhere. Every kind of food you could want from chicken and waffles to foie gras burgers. Full of adventurous chefs. Tantalizing food. Oregon Pinots. Handcrafted beer.

And yet why do I eat at Chipotle at least once a week if not more if I happened to find a lose $5 bill in the wash? I crave Chipotle. I could eat it every day. What is it about their Burrito Bowl that I find so compelling? So necessary to include in my life on a weekly basis? It calls to me. Not out loud. Because that would be just weird and mean that I’m hearing voices and should be getting professional help.

I know it’s a chain. And you know how I feel about chain restaurants. I hear that it’s owned by the evil Golden Arches. Which somehow should bother me, but it doesn’t. I like to think of the owners of Chipotle sticking to their mission while also sticking it to McDonalds as they take their money. I like to cook. What’s so hard about making some rice and beans, pouring salsa out of a jar and throwing some grilled chicken on it? And yet my homemade version just doesn’t measure up.

Maybe it’s because I like their mission and their story…(of course this could be just another example of me falling prey to marketing)

“Food with Integrity” is our commitment to always look closer, dig deeper, and work harder to ensure that our actions are making things better, not worse. It’s our promise to run our business in a way that doesn’t exploit animals, people or the environment. It is the philosophy that guides every decision we make at Chipotle.”

Maybe it’s just because it’s so damn good. Why ask why? I think I need to make a Chipotle run.

Until next time…Moose out

Leave a Reply

