Good Old Spaghetti & Meatballs

Okay, I realize that I haven’t posted anything since October. I know this is verboten in the world of blogging. One must be consistent. I could spend all kinds of time telling you why I haven’t posted. It involves being sick, vacation, doggie surgery. No one wants to hear all those details. I’m just back and we’ll leave it at that. I’m sure all two of my readers were beside themselves when I hadn’t put up a post. NOT!

The doggie surgery is relevant to cooking because I was so freaked out by the whole thing that in order to maintain some level of sanity I had to distract myself. I could have watched The Housewives of Every City in the US, but it’s better if I’m actually busy. So I spent time in the kitchen. Cooking. Baking. Sometimes successfully. Sometimes not. My culinary disasters are for another time. What I did make that was not a disaster and was downright tasty was a recipe for Good Old Spaghetti &Meatballs. Not pasta with a Roasted Tomato, Garlic Coulis. Spaghetti & Meatballs. Like when you were little.

I found the recipe in Women’s Health magazine of all places. I suppose it’s considered healthy if your portion is a reasonable size. I’ve never been very reasonable so…Enjoy!

Good Old Spaghetti & Meatballs

(makes 6 servings. not in my house)

Marinara Sauce

1 yellow onion chopped

2T olive oil

4 cloves garlic minced

2 (28oz.) cans diced tomatoes

1/4 c chopped fresh basil

2 sprigs of fresh thyme

1/4 c balsamic vinegar or red wine (seriously? Who wouldn’t choose the red wine? Unless of course someone had already finished off the whole bottle.)

1/4 t salt or to taste

  • In a saucepan, sauté onion in olive oil for about 20 minutes over low heat. (Remember not to forget that you have onions cooking because you were distracted by the latest episode of Revenge)
  • Add garlic and sauté for another 10 minutes
  • Add tomatoes and herbs. Mix well and cook on low for approximately 2 hours (or until you husband, family, partner comes home hungry for dinner which may inhibit cooking time)
  • When sauce has thickened, add balsamic vinegar or red wine (I highly recommend red wine which you can then enjoy while cooking and eating) and allow to simmer for about 5 more minutes. Add salt to taste.

Meatballs

6oz ground beef (I got a whopping 1/2lb)

6oz ground pork (same)

1 clove garlic minced

1 cup finely diced mushrooms (whatever you have in the fridge)

1/4c parsley finely chopped (I never have parsley in the fridge. I kind of consider it an unnecessary ingredient. Like celery.)

1 large egg, slightly beaten

3/4c Panko bread crumbs

1/2t salt

2t olive oil

16oz. whole-wheat spaghetti

  • Mix beef and pork. Stir in garlic, parsley, mushrooms, egg, Panko and salt.
  • Roll the mixture into 30 1-inch balls (I got about 20) and transfer to a rimmed baking sheet and refrigerate for 1 hour.
  • Heat oil in skillet over medium-high heat.
  • Working batches, cook meatballs, shaking the skillet occasionally (like they do on TV) until they are brown all over, about 6 minutes.
  • Transfer meatballs to sauce
  • Simmer until the meatballs are cooked through about 10 minutes.

Make spaghetti as usual. Cover with boatloads of sauce and meatballs. Eat!

2 thoughts on “Good Old Spaghetti & Meatballs

Leave a Reply

