Last Night for Dinner…

Yesterday my big love puppy Bodhi went in for his second ACL surgery. To say that I was beside myself, worrying, fussing and so on would be an understatement. There’s a reason I don’t have kids. I simply couldn’t handle it.

My level of concentration was limited at best. I was able to watch an episode of Project Runway and decided that all of the designers should be relinquished of their pincushions and ‘aufed’ by Heidi. (and I’m perfect) But that’s about all I was able to handle. To distract myself as I waited for the vet’s call I decided to cook. Last time Bodhi went in for surgery I think I roasted every possible thing I could find in the fridge.

This time I decided to make Oven-BBQ Asian Chicken and Spicy Lentil and Sweet Potato Stew With Chipotles. Not necessarily to be eaten together. I just felt the need to chop and whir all kinds of ingredients.

The Oven BBQ Asian Chicken is from www.eatingwell.com although I don’t know that Eating Well would approve of my version since I left the skin on. What they don’t know…

This recipe is easy, delicious, smells good and if you want to be all healthy and virtuous then take off the skin. If not…pan-fry the chicken thighs, then toss them in the marinade and then put them in the oven. Up to you. I personally enjoy crispy chicken skin. Calories be damned.

INGREDIENTS

1 bunch scallions

1/4 cup hoisin sauce

1 tablespoon reduced-sodium soy sauce

1 tablespoon minced fresh ginger

1 tablespoon minced garlic

1 teaspoon Asian hot sauce, such as Sriracha, or to taste

1/4 teaspoon Chinese five-spice powder (see Tips)

6 bone-in chicken thighs (1 1/4-1 1/2 pounds total), skin removed, trimmed (I may have chosen to forgo the skin removal step)

1 1/2 teaspoons toasted sesame seeds (see Tips) (I also totally spaced on the sesame seeds. The bottle was sitting right in front of me. Oops. Next time.)

PREPARATION

Preheat oven to 350°F. Coat a 9-by-13-inch (or similar-size) baking dish with cooking spray.

Thinly slice 1/4 cup scallion greens; set aside. Mince the whites. Whisk the scallion whites, hoisin sauce, soy sauce, ginger, garlic, hot sauce and five-spice powder in a large bowl. Add chicken and toss to coat. Arrange the chicken in an even layer in the prepared baking dish, meatier-side down. Pour any remaining sauce from the bowl over the chicken.

Bake, turning once halfway so the meatier side is up, until an instant-read thermometer inserted into the thickest part without touching bone registers 165°F, about 1 hour. Transfer the chicken to a serving platter and top with any remaining sauce from the baking dish. Sprinkle with sesame seeds and the reserved scallion greens. (I also may have forgotten to do this as well. What can I tell you I was distracted. Luckily I didn’t set the house on fire.)

Serve with Jasmine rice and an avocado mango salad. Recipe for lentils…next time.

3 thoughts on “Last Night for Dinner…

Leave a Reply

