Kosher for Passover

macaroons

I am neither kosher nor do I observe Passover. That could be because I’m not Jewish. Although I’m firmly convinced I was Jewish in a previous life. But that’s for another day.

Back to kosher for Passover.

I was invited over for Passover Seder this week and I asked what I could bring. I was to be in charge of the vegetable. Pretty hard to make a non-kosher veg. Unless breadcrumbs were involved. But of course making just a veg wasn’t enough for me. I needed to make more and something not on the menu. I decided that in honor of Passover I would attempt to  make the macaroon. Not the super fancy, beautifully colored, double decker French macaroon. I find those intimidating. Although I really should get over my food fears.

I decided to go for the coconut macaroon.

What could possibly be difficult about mixing together some coconut, sweet condensed milk and an egg white? Given my bad baking mojo of late, a lot could go wrong and did. I was feeling all culinary and baking goddess-like as I separated my egg and mixed together the ingredients. I placed the sticky little mounds of coconutty goodness on the pan and stuck them in the oven to bake. That’s when everything went pear shaped and macaroon disaster ensued.

Envision a fried egg that’s totally not fried enough.

That weird, icky uncooked gunk around the yolk. Are you with me. Gross right? My macaroons had expanded to resemble that egg that was totally not fried enough. It looked nothing like those macaroon pictures you see in magazines. I may have panicked just a bit. Then I got all McGyver on those cookies and decided to reconstruct them. Pushing all the runny, spread out parts together to form a proper looking macaroon. And you know what? It worked. Not in a Martha Stewart kind of way, but a ‘I can bring these to my friends house for Passover and not be embarrassed’ kind of way. I did dip the bottoms in bittersweet chocolate which I’m sure didn’t hurt matters

I was pleasantly surprised that everyone seemed to enjoy the macaroon. Some eating more than one. If only they had seen them hours before. They might have had second thoughts.

Once again this recipe and photo are from www.food52.com

Enjoy!

Makes 4 1/2 to 5 dozen (I got about half as many. Maybe that was my problem? Does size really matter?)

  • 1 1/2cup sweetened condensed milk (most cans are 14 oz so save the extra 2 oz for iced coffee!) (For the record one 14oz can DOES NOT give you 1.5 cups, you only get 1 and almost, but not quite a half cup. So buy two tins. I for one did not use any extra for iced coffee. That stuff is so sweet it makes my teeth hurt.)
  • 1large egg white
  • 1teaspoon vanilla
  • 14ounces sweetened shredded coconut
  • 3 to 4ounces bittersweet chocolate
  • pinch of salt
  1. Pre-heat oven to 325. Have two cookie sheets lined with silpat or wax paper.
  2. Mix milk, egg white, and salt together well. Add in coconut and stir until combined.
  3. Using a rounded teaspoon, wet it, and begin scooping out full teaspoons of the coconut mixture. These will be messy and not uniform, but leave them until you have finished spacing twelve on the tray. Wet your fingers and mold the sticky cookies into mounds, try to tame the stray pieces of coconut. (Back, back you stray pieces of coconut. I’m sure I’m the only one who will think that’s funny.) Repeat on second tray.
  4. Bake one cookie sheet at a time for 17-20 minutes or until the tops and bottoms of the macaroons are golden brown.
  5. Place cookie sheet on rack to cool. After a few minutes remove the silpat with the cookies on it from the sheet pan and place the silpat on the rack. Do not remove cookies until they are cool, about 15 minutes (this happens while the other sheet of cookies is baking). Remove cookies from silpat and place on a piece of wax paper long enough to cover the surface beneath the rack. Reload the tray with more cookies. Repeat until finished.
  6. When all cookies are cool eat a couple–they are delicious without the chocolate too! Also, melt the chocolate. Remove cookies to silpat and place the wax paper beneath the rack. Using a spatula lightly brush the bottom of the macaroons with chocolate and place upside down or on it’s side on the rack to dry. Repeat until finished.
  7. Once all the cookies have chocolate bottoms put the rack in the refrigerator for about an hour or until the chocolate has hardened. Place cookies in gift bags or an air tight container and keep in the fridge for 1-2 days
2 thoughts on “Kosher for Passover

Leave a Reply

