Last Night for Dinner…Shrimp and Mango Ceviche

I just like saying the word ‘ceviche.’ I also enjoy saying ‘escabeche.’ It makes me feels so international. ‘I’m making ceviche in my Spanish villa while drinking a white rioja. Seriously. Doesn’t that make me sound so mysterious? I really need to get a life don’t I?!

As we all and as I’ve mentioned before…it’s f-ing hot!!! Who wants to cook? Who can eat another pizza? Who wants to eat anything where steam and heat are involved?

Picture me standing in front of my fridge. Door open. Pondering. Waiting for an idea to miraculously pop into my head. What to make for dinner? I have shrimp. What to do with the shrimp that isn’t a quesadilla, pasta or jambalaya? Ceviche. Of course. Who wouldn’t think of ceviche?

As a rule ceviche is a ‘raw’ dish involving some form of seafood, lime juice, cilantro, jalapeno and other such lovely things. The concept of raw shrimp. Disgusting. And probably not particularly safe when it comes to food borne illness. The recipe I made last night involved briefly cooking the shrimp and then tossing it with all kinds of ceviche goodness.

While this recipe involves ‘cooked’ seafood I highly recommend trying a ceviche with raw seafood. (not necessarily shrimp. I have a great recipe from Nigella Lawson I’ll post sometime. That poor woman by the way! I have an enormous girl crush on her! I could go on. But won’t.) Thing is with seafood it actually ‘cooks’ when you put it in an acidic environment. I kind of sound like Alton Brown right now. I wish. Don’t be afraid of raw fish!

Shrimp and Mango Ceviche

Ingredients

  • 3/4 pound (about 30) medium peeled-and-deveined shrimp
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped red onion
  • 6 tablespoons lime juice
  • 1/4 cup roughly chopped cilantro
  • 1 large mango, peeled, pitted and chopped
  • 1 tomato, cored and chopped
  • 1 jalapeño peppers, seeded (if desired) and finely chopped
  • 3/4 teaspoon fine sea salt

Bring a medium pot of generously salted water to a boil. Add shrimp and cook until pink and cooked through, 1 to 2 minutes. Drain, rinse under cold running water and drain again.

Chop shrimp into 1/2-inch pieces and transfer to a large bowl. Add onion, lime juice, cilantro, mango, tomato, jalapeño and salt and toss well. Cover and chill until cold, about 1 hour.

Get all crazy adventurous and make your own guacamole. Heat up some tortillas. If you’re feeling all Paleo  just put a big scoop of ceviche on a bed of lettuce.

Enjoy!!!!

Recipe and photo courtesy of Whole Foods

I considered adding some minced garlic but didn’t know if that was against the ‘ceviche code?’ Thoughts?

One thought on “Last Night for Dinner…Shrimp and Mango Ceviche

Leave a Reply

