The Drunken Botanist

I aspire to be many things. This summer I want to be The Drunken Botanist (aka Amy Stewart – NY Times bestselling author). While actually being her and taking on her identity is a little too ‘Single White Female’ for me I can plant the Drunken Botanist Plant Collection and pretend.

Of course I had to have every Drunken Botanist Plant Collection available. Go big or go home.

I planted, I watered, I nurtured. Some plants are flourishing. Others, not so much. (Don’t tell Amy Stewart or Martha Stewart for that matter.)

I was really excited about the simple syrup collection. Unfortunately the simple syrup collection is no longer with us. It met an untimely demise. I wonder if the dogs peed on it? Bygones.

The mint is doing pretty well. Not that it’s some kind of gardening miracle or has anything to do with my skills as a gardener. I’m pretty sure my dogs could successfully grow mint.

I just stumbled upon this recipe which I definitely plan on making if not tonight over the weekend. Who doesn’t want a Champagne Mojito???

Champagne Mojito 

1 oz white rum

.5 oz simple syrup  (see note)

.5 oz fresh-squeezed lime juice

2-3 sprigs fresh spearmint

3-4 oz sparkling wine (A dry Spanish cava works well.  Segura Viudas is an excellent affordable option.  Please don’t use Cooks or another rock-bottom cheap brand)

Fresh or frozen strawberries, blueberries, or raspberries.  Fruit can be left whole, but if the strawberries are large, slice them.

Crushed ice

Note:  To make simple syrup, heat equal parts sugar and water until the sugar melts.  Allow to cool.  Keep refrigerated and use within 1-2 weeks.  Don’t buy bottled simple syrup—make it yourself.

Reserve one mint sprig for garnish. In a cocktail shaker, muddle the first four ingredients.  Shake with ice and strain into achampagne flute or tall, skinny Collins glassfilled with a mixture of crushed ice and whole berries.  Top with 3-4 oz sparkling wine and garnish with mint.

To make these in a batch:

Mix about 8 drinks at a time.

Get 8 glasses ready to go, filled with crushed ice and berries.  Then mix:

8 oz rum

4 oz simple syrup

4 oz fresh-squeezed lime juice

A big handful of fresh spearmint

Muddle well in cocktail shaker, then shake over ice and strain about 3 oz into each glass.  Top each with 3-4 oz sparkling wine and garnish with mint.

Recipe, image and inspiration provided by – http://drunkenbotanist.com

Leave a Reply

