Bourbon Rice Krispie Treats. Yes Really!

Remember back in high school when your drink of choice was some type of wine cooler? Yes of course I drank illegally and in high school. Who didn’t? Seriously. If that was the worst thing I did…I wonder what the statue of limitations is on underage drinking? Perhaps I should retract my statement. (Totally unrelated the statue of limitations comment is related to my new, most fav show on Netflix…Orange is the New Black. Watch it. So well done. Almost makes me want to go to prison. Wait, I take that back.)

In college you moved on to kegs of bad beer, drinking cheap, bad wine out of the bottle with a straw while dipping Cheetos in onion dip because your friend is going to a frat formal and you’re not. True story. I digress. And then there’s the garbage can full of purple punch that contained illegally sourced grain alcohol that made one of your friends so drunk she ended up on the front lawn of a fraternity house in her proper preppy nightgown. Bygones.

I’m going to have to skip the drinking years between 20 and 40 or else this post could get very long.

So now as a grown up…(I use that term lightly) I really don’t like beer (that statement may get me kicked out of the state of Oregon). I love wine. Started with the white zin in the 80’s. Just thinking about white zin makes me want to throw up in my mouth a little bit.

But my true passion, my true cocktail love is bourbon. I’m thinking of buying stock. It’s my go-to cocktail. Rocks. Not neat unless it’s a $100 bottle. It’s my happy drink and my sad drink. There was a time when I found out I didn’t get a job that I really, really wanted. So I literally drowned my sorrows at 3pm on Friday afternoon with a bottle of Buffalo Trace and back to back episodes of Modern Family. Don’t judge.

So imagine how I excited I was when a friend posted a recipe for Bourbon Rice Krispie Treats on facebook!!

Of course I immediately ran out the door to buy the ingredients. I insist you make the Bourbon Rice Krispie Treats. Go out now and get what you need. You will be loved by many. A shrine will be built in your honor.

Bourbon Rice Krispie Treats

6 cups crisp rice cereal (seriously? just get Rice Krispies not some generic crisp rice cereal)
3 Tablespoons butter
10.5 ounces mini marshmallows
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
2 Tablespoons Maker’s Mark or whiskey/bourbon of choice (feel free to enjoy a bourbon or perhaps a Manhattan if you’re feeling fancy while you make these)
salt, for finishing (Trust me on this one. The salt is key.)

Measure cereal into a bowl and set aside.  Melt butter in a sauce pan over medium heat, then add marshmallows and cinnamon and stir until melted and combined.

Remove from heat and stir in whiskey.  Note: there will be a little sizzle and some steam as the alcohol cooks out–don’t be alarmed. (this did not frighten me whatsoever)

Immediately pour marshmallow mixture over cereal and stir to combine.

Transfer coated cereal to a lightly greased 9 x 13 inch pan and gently press to an even layer.  Sprinkle a bit of salt over top for finish. DO NOT FORGET THE SALT!

When cool, cut into bars. Hide some for yourself. These will not last. Enjoy!

Recipe courtesy of – http://www.secretsfromthecookieprincess.com

Kellog’s is not compensating me in any way for using the term ‘Rice Krispies.’ No money and no lifetime supply of cereal.

Leave a Reply

