Last Night for Dinner…Fig Balsamic Glazed Grilled Beef

I’ve heard that as a person gets older memory is the first thing to go. I’m really not particularly old. But my memory? Sometimes it deserts me.

Where are my glasses? On top of my head. True story. Although once I did put them in the fridge.

Where is that damn recipe?

I’m sure every other cook/chef/eater of food has all their recipes stored, alphabetically in one place and has no problem ever finding a particular recipe. I hate those people! Hate is a rather strong word. I would like to be one of those people. Every now and again (which means pretty often) I’ll find a recipe on the Interwebs, make said recipe, enjoy said recipe, forget to bookmark it and also forget the name of the recipe so it becomes impossible to do ‘the google.’ And then I want to make it again. Or perhaps feature it on my blog.

Sexy Figs

I am a big, big, big fan of figs. Any which way. Of course there’s all that talk about the sexiness of the fig which I totally get. All that lush, purply, juicy, sumptuous, sweet deliciousness. Figs are indeed a sexy fruit. Figs and sex can be the topic for another post. I digress.

I made this really lovely, beautiful roasted fig, balsamic jammy stuff that I wanted to use with this recipe. Can I find the recipe for the roasted fig balsamic jammy stuff??? No.

Luckily I bookmarked the recipe for the beef. If I ever find the other recipe I’ll be sure to let you know.

For the record this is delicious!!!!! Also if you actually made your own batch of figgy goodness and have some leftover, slather some ricotta cheese on a toasted baguette, ladle on some of the figgy goodness. Voila. An appetizer Wolfgang Puck would be proud of.

Fig Balsamic Glazed Grilled Beef
Serves 4
Prep time: 5 minutes
Cook time: 10 minutes

Ingredients
• 1 (9 ounce) jar fig jam (or homemade roasted fig balsamic jammy goodness)
• 1 large garlic clove, minced (I used way more)
• 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
• 1/2 cup white wine
• 1 1/2 pounds Angus beef boneless Ribeye steaks (I believe I used a flank or skirt steak. bygones)
• salt and pepper

Directions
Heat an outdoor grill to medium-high.

In a small pot, add in the jam, garlic, vinegar, and wine. Bring to a boil; then reduce heat and lightly simmer for 10 minutes.

In the meantime, season your steaks with salt and pepper to taste. Grill for 5 minutes a side (or until beef is cooked to your liking), brushing with some of the fig glaze after turning.

Serve the steaks with remaining glaze.

The recipe is courtesy of Very Culinary

Pic was actually taken by me. I am most pleased.

Leave a Reply

