Salted Caramel Bourbon Rice Krispy Treats. Is that overkill?

So is it?

At this moment I can’t say.

I stumbled across the Salted Caramel Rice Krispy Treat recipe the other day. As I was contemplating the wonders of salted caramel topping off Rice Krispy treats I thought…what if I top the Bourbon Rice Krispy Treats with caramel???

I put off combining the two recipes as I puzzled over the question of overkill. Would it be too much? Or would it be sublime?

I’d planned on answering that very deep and soulful question today. But as luck would have it I might possibly have forgotten one key ingredient. No, not the caramel or Rice Krispies. Apparently when melting the aforementioned caramel you melt it with a container of condensed milk. Because of course there’s not near enough sugar in the marshmallows or caramel to suffice. And I’m not one to have a container of condensed milk just lurking in my pantry. Condensed milk makes me think of casseroles involving cream of something soup, frozen broccoli and tater tots. And the latter just makes me want to throw up in my mouth. Of course if you like that kind of thing that’s your gig. Far be it for me to judge. I just kind of did didn’t I? Bygones.

Remember how I often write ‘read through the entire recipe before making a commitment?’ This would apply here as well. Had I read the entire recipe I would have known that it called for condensed milk. Granted I had everything else. I was good to go. Except for the damn condensed milk. The grocery is a mere hop, skip and jump away. But after the day I had (details of which I will share at another time) I wasn’t hopping, skipping or jumping anywhere. Except toward the liquor cabinet.

And yes I’m that lazy. I just couldn’t bring myself to put on my kicks, grab the keys and go to the grocery. I was all hunkered down at home and knew if I left the house I would be annoyed by something.

But far be for me to let condensed milk stand in the way of me making Bourbon infused Rice Krispy treats! And make them I did.

So, if your pantry is more complete and you have all the necessary ingredients…have at it. Combine the two recipes. The caramel related one is here. Let me know how it turns out. Overkill? Or not? Enjoy!

Salted Caramel Rice Krispy Treats
makes 24 bars

Caramel:
1 bag of caramels, unwrapped (I would find the unwrapping of the teeny tiny caramels highly annoying)
14 ounce can sweetened condensed milk (apparently other people always have said item in their pantry)
1/4 C butter

Bars:
1/4 C butter
11 ounce bag mini marshmallows
1 1/2 tsp vanilla
1 tsp sea salt flakes
8 C crispy rice cereal
chocolate chips (optional)

1.  In a medium saucepan over medium-low heat, melt all the caramel ingredients together until smooth.  Remove from heat.
2.  In a large pot, melt butter over medium-low heat, add the marshmallows and stir until almost melted.   Add vanilla, sea salt and about half of the caramel mixture and stir well.  Remove from the heat and stir in the cereal until evenly coated.
3.  Pour into a greased 9×13 inch pan and press down firmly with damp hands.  Spread the remaining caramel over the top of the bars.  Sprinkle an additional 2 tsp of sea salt flakes over the top and allow to cool before cutting into bars.  If you would like to drizzle chocolate over the top, just melt some chocolate chips in the microwave and drizzle all over!

I have to say, while I admire this cook’s courage and creativity,  I think melted chocolate drizzled over the top may be overkill. The woman has 6 children. Doesn’t she realize there’s enough sugar in these things to have her kids buzzing until at least Halloween? I hope someone warned her.

Recipe and gorgeous image courtesy of MyKitchenEscapades

Leave a Reply

