Breaking Bad – PDX Style – Yes there’s more

You really didn’t think I was going to stop with one post about ill begotten, freshly foraged, chanterelle mushrooms obtained under the cloak of darkness? Granted they weren’t ill begotten as far as I know. I just felt like using those two words.

Could I Be Mr. Heisenberg?

After making two amazing dishes with the chanterelles I needed more. Where can I find this mysterious man (aka Mr. Heisenberg) and his pick up truck full of freshly foraged chanterelles? Must I learn to forage on my own? The idea of doing that makes me rather nervous. If I misidentified a mushroom that could be the end of me as I know it. I don’t know if I’m brave enough to forage on my own? I need a well versed mycology partner. That person could teach me the ways of the mushroom. I could then share my bounty with others. I need my own Mr. or Ms. Heisenburg to show me the way.

Chanterelles today. Truffles tomorrow. That’s where the big money is. Keep in mind I am unemployed, so this could be a great income source. The procuring and sale of ‘shrooms.’ I may need to change my identity. I know I could teach one of the dogs to snurrfle out some truffles. They have classes for that here in Oregon. Of course they do.

What is a Fricassee?

Left with about a pound of these dreamy, delicious chanterelles I perused the Interwebs looking for the perfect recipe. It had to be the perfect recipe. All culinary and sublime. Because that’s how I roll. Not really. I really don’t have any culinary cred. I just like to make food.

I stumbled upon this beautiful dish…Fricassee of Chanterelles. First of all, what the hell is a fricassee? When was the last time you ordered or made anything called a ‘fricassee?’ So I turned to the googles and discovered a fricassee is a dish of stewed or fried pieces of meat served in a thick white sauce which confused me even further because there wasn’t any stewed or fried pieces of meat in the recipe. For the record the concept of ‘stewed meat’ kind of grosses me out.

Then I discovered that this word used as a verb is defined as ‘make a fricassee of (something). Also rather smooshy and vague. But there you have it. Actually when if comes right down to it do I really need to know what that word means? All I know is that the end was result was crazy good.
Fricassee of Chanterelles (with Crumbled Italian Chicken Sausage)
Ingredients
  • 6 tablespoons (3/4 stick) unsalted butter, divided (while I’m all about the butter I only used 4 T. 6 just seemed superfluous.)
  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil, divided
  • 1 small yellow onion, finely chopped (about 1 cup) (I used shallots because that’s what was in the onion, garlic bowl and I didn’t want to go out and buy one small yellow onion. you know how lazy I am.)
  • Kosher salt, freshly ground pepper
  • 3 garlic cloves, finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup dry white wine
  • 1 pound chanterelles, brushed clean (halved if large) (I ‘heart’ Mr. Heisenburg!)
  • 1/2 pound ground Italian chicken sausage (use more if you like)
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream (no skimping on the cream please)
  • Pinch of freshly grated nutmeg (I would like to say I’m one of those cooks who actually keeps a fresh nutmeg in her spice drawer. But I’m not. Don’t judge.)
  • 1 teaspoon fresh oregano plus more for garnish (I used dried oregano. Once again keep in mind how lazy I am.)
  • Fresh lemon juice
  • 1/4 pound pappardelle, cooked al dente, or 1 pound boiled new potatoes (conceptually the whole potato thing doesn’t work for me. but this isn’t about me. if you love potatoes. have at it.)

preparation

Melt 3 tablespoons butter with 1 tablespoon oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. (Totally use the recommended 6 T of butter.) Add onion, season with salt and pepper, and cook, stirring occasionally, until softened and lightly golden, 4–5 minutes. Add garlic and cook for 1 minute. Stir in wine and cook until liquid is reduced by half, about 2 minutes. Add remaining 3 tablespoons butter, remaining 1 tablespoon oil, and mushrooms. Cook, stirring occasionally, until mushrooms are lightly golden, about 5 minutes. Add cream and nutmeg and cook until slightly thickened, about 2 minutes. Stir in 1 teaspoon oregano. Season to taste with salt, pepper, and lemon juice. Toss in a skillet with cooked pasta, or serve over smashed boiled potatoes. (you know how I feel about the potatoes.) Garnish with more oregano.

This recipe serve four. There are two of us. We ate it all. You do the math. Yes, it’s that good.

Enjoy! Moose out.

Recipe and image courtesy of Yummly

Leave a Reply

