Fun Size Chocolate Cupcakes & Minions

Minions sounds like it should be some kind of food related word doesn’t it? I just baked a batch of minions . Or I’m grilling some minions with BBQ sauce. The more I think about it the more demented it sounds that I think minions (aka a follower or underling of a powerful person, esp. a servile or unimportant one.) should be baked or grilled. There’s something inherently wrong with that whole concept. Oh well, carry on make it work. Bygones. Moving on.

Don’t get all shocked and judgey. You probably thought minions were some kind of tiny, precious French pastry.

God Knows I Need Some Help in More Ways Than One

Why I bring up minions is that I would really like one to help me out in the kitchen. All those fab celeb chefs on all those fab cooking shows have multiple minions. Did you ever see Tom Colicchio cleaning up after himself? Do you really think Michael Voltaggio (my latest celeb crush. don’t worry Anthony Bourdain, I will always love you and your hard drinking, rough around the edges ways) spends hours doing prep work? Peeling chopping deveining? I think not. That’s because these people have minions. I think the politically correct way to refer to these industrious people is sous chef or something along those lines. Well I would like one please and thank you.

I have myself been in a minion in a kitchen so I feel perfectly free to bandy about the word.

Moose. You Be a Good Cook. But You Be a Messy Cook. 

(Famous words from an amazing woman I met during my culinary arts program.)

I am a messy cook. I break all the rules and don’t clean up as I go. (I would like to be one of those who clean up as I go, but it’s just not going to happen.) Flour, sauce, bits and pieces of veg are everywhere. And I mean everywhere. If I had some help in the kitchen then I wouldn’t be doing dishes three times a day and my carrots would be perfectly julienned. And most importantly my kitchen wouldn’t look like this.

Messy, messy, messy
Messy, messy, messy

And when I made these cupcakes for a friend’s birthday I wouldn’t have to carefully pour minute amounts of batter into little, itty, bitty, tiny muffin tins.  I would have had my highly trained minion do it. I find making small food annoying.

I know this post is a bit all over the place. But I felt it was important to put out my plea for a minion and share this cupcake recipe. I like to think of them as ‘Fun Size Cupcakes.’ Like a ‘Fun Size Snickers or Fun Size Butter Fingers. Less than 100 calories a piece which means for some reason you believe eating five really isn’t a big deal. Because they’re small. And small things don’t have many calories.

P.S. I actually had the audacity to bring these cupcakes to my most favorite psycho killer cycling class. I was afraid I’d be struck down by the a bolt of lightening or have a 50 pound weight hurled at me. Fortunately neither happened.

My less than perfect versions.
My less than perfect versions.

mini chocolate cupcakes with chocolate ganache
cake recipe from here and ganache recipe from sweet savory life

chocolate cupcakes:
1-1/2 cups flour
1 cup granulated sugar
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1/3 cup cocoa powder
1/2 cup oil
1 cup water
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tbsp vinegar

chocolate ganache: 

(ganache just sounds so fabulously decadent and complicated somehow when all it involves is melted chocolate, cream and a whisk)

12 oz chocolate, chopped into small pieces
1 cup heavy cream
directions:
for the cake: mix all ingredients together until moist and well blended. put in mini cupcake cups and bake for 17-18 minutes at 350 degrees f.

for the ganache: place chocolate pieces in a large bowl. heat heavy cream on medium high until it comes to a boil. remove from heat and immediately pour cream over chocolate and stir until completely mixed and glossy. allow ganache to completely cool and set up. when you are able to spoon the ganache and it can hold its texture, it is ready for piping. pipe/frost and enjoy!

chocolate cake recipe makes 50 mini cupcakes (or 16 regular ones). ganache recipe makes 1-1/2 cups.

One thought on “Fun Size Chocolate Cupcakes & Minions

  1. Yes! Thank you for posting this recipe. I’ll be making these this coming week for Maddy’s birthday party.
    And, yes, I would like a minion in my kitchen as well. I guess my kiddos are minion’s in training, right?!

Leave a Reply

