Zucchini – Size Does Matter

I know everyone is probably totally over reading about the amazing and delicious things that you can make with zucchini. Is that going to stop me from writing about an amazing thing you can make with zucchini? Of course not.

Zucchini The Size of a Small Dog

You will thank me when you are wandering through your what you thought was completely harvested garden and suddenly stumble over something that is the size of a small dog or 3 year old. That thing will be the one zucchini you somehow missed and now it’s become an entity of gigantic proportions. Some would even consider it rather frightening. Do not be afraid. I know you’re probably so sick and tired of zucchini muffins, zucchini fritters, zucchini lasagna, fried zucchini, grilled zucchini, sauteed zucchini, zucchini cake, zucchini coulis. (I don’t really think a zucchini coulis would be very good. just sayin…) that you just want to throw the damn thing out. Don’t do it. Pick that humongous thing (feel free to ask a neighbor or teenager to help if it’s too unwieldy and weighs 100 pounds) and bring into the house and make soup. Make boatloads of soup. Eat some now. Freeze some for later.

My Giant Zucchini (does that somehow sound naughty?)

The giant, not quite the size of a small dog zucchini that I procured was from a lovely friend who refused to let me leave her house unless I took the giant zucchinis and some peppers with me. So I did. And I made zucchini muffins and decided that I’m really not a fan of the zucchini muffin. I also grilled a bunch of zucchini half of which fell in between the grill grates never to be seen again. Then I was trying to think of the best way to use up the rest of the zucchini??

I stumbled upon a recipe for Curried Zucchini Soup. Courtesy of Emeril Lagasse. Bam and all that. Either you love curry or not so much. This is for those of you who do. I for one am a very big fan of curry and will essentially use it like salt.

Curried Zucchini Soup

Ingredients
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
1 cup chopped yellow onions
1 teaspoon minced garlic
2 teaspoons curry powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
Pinch cayenne
2 pounds zucchini, trimmed and chopped (I pretty much winged it here since I don’t have a scale. It’s soup. There’s not much you can do to muck it up.)
3 1/2 cups vegetable stock
1/2 cup heavy cream (Do not fear the heavy cream. It’s only half a cup for an entire vat of soup. If you have strong feelings about the heavy cream feel free to use a lighter option. Although keep in mind it just won’t be as fabulous.)
Chopped cilantro, garnish
Fried pappadums, or toasted pita triangles, accompaniment
Directions
In a medium pot, heat the oil over medium-high heat. Add the onions and garlic and cook, stirring, until soft, about 3 minutes. Add the curry powder, salt, and cayenne, stir, and cook until fragrant, about 30 seconds. Add the zucchini, reduce to medium heat, and cook, stirring occasionally, until soft, 5 to 6 minutes. Add the stock and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat and simmer until the zucchini is very tender, about 20 minutes.

Remove from the heat. With a hand-held immersion blender, or in batches in a food processor, puree the soup. (I tried using a hand-held immersion blender once. I ended up wearing the majority of the soup. Funny, the same thing happened when I used my blender forgetting that I was pureeing a very hot liquid. Incident like these make me wonder if I should just avoid the kitchen?)

Be very careful when pureeing the soup. I recommend protective gear of some kind and maybe a helmet. I should heed this advice myself. 

Return to medium heat and stir in the cream. Simmer for 3 minutes. Adjust the seasoning, to taste.

Pour into a clean container and let cool slightly. Refrigerate until well chilled, 4 to 6 hours. (I did nothing of the kind because I was really  hungry.)

To serve, ladle into large cups, garnish with cilantro, and serve with hot pappadums or pita toast. This soup may be served hot or cold.

If you have leftover grains of some kind like rice or couscous dump it into the soup. Actually if you have anything savory hanging out in your fridge, dump it in the soup. Delish.

Recipe courtesy of Emeril Lagase and The Food Network

Image courtesy of me and my lovely friend.

Enjoy! Until next time. Moose out.

Leave a Reply

