Everything is Better with Bourbon

For the record, while I wish my peanut butter cups looked like this, they don’t.

Okay, maybe not everything is better, but lots of things. I love that my east coast friends think of me when they see anything involving bourbon and then promptly send me the recipe. Should it concern me that my friends think of me when they see anything involving bourbon? There are worse things. I’m just glad that I haven’t been forgotten on the east coast!

Last week my lovely friend K. sent me a recipe for Dark Chocolate Bourbon Peanut Butter Cups. Yes you read that right. This would be one of those things that is even better with bourbon. Really. What’s to hate about a combination of dark chocolate, bourbon, peanut butter and obscene amounts of sugar and butter? Nothing I tell you! These are definitely a grown up treat and for those who are crazy about dark chocolate. These peanut butter cups are substantial. They are not for the faint of heart. I suspect you could take these on a long trek through the tundra and you would survive solely on these and water.

Granted these peanut butter cups probably contain at least 5,000 calories, but if nothing else…they are gluten free. So enjoy without guilt.

Ingredients
1 1/2 package (11 1/2-ounce) milk or dark chocolate chips (only dark chocolate chips will do)
1 shot bourbon (one shot for the peanut butter cups. one shot for you.)
1 cup creamy peanut butter (don’t try and get all healthy and organic on me with the peanut butter. Buy Skippy. Buy Jiff. Done.)
3 tablespoons vegetable shortening, softened (I don’t happen to have Crisco in the house so I just used butter. Everything is also better with butter.)
1/4 cup butter
1 1/2 cups confectioner’s sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
  1. Line a 12-cup muffin tin with paper liners. In a saucepan, add the shot of boubon and the shortening to the chocolate chips and place over very low heat.
  2. Stir until the mixture is smooth. *Make sure to add the alcohol to the chocolate when it is still solid, as adding liquid to already melted chocolate will make it seize.* Allow to cool slightly, but make sure the mixture is still pourable.
  3. Spoon 1 tablespoon of chocolate inside the cups, covering bottom half of each cup. Chill for 30 minutes, or until cool.
  4. In a bowl, combine the confectioners’ sugar, peanut butter, salt, and the butter till well incorporated. Spoon 2 heaped teaspoons of the peanut butter mixture over the chocolate cups and press down firmly.
  5. Spoon another tablespoon of the chocolate mixture over the peanut butter, allowing the chocolate to completely cover the peanut butter. (If the mixture is cold and no longer pourable, return to the stove over low heat for a minute, until smooth.)
  6. Chill for 3 hours, or until firm.

Recipe and image courtesy of  Food Republic

Leave a Reply

