Orange is the New Black

I couldn’t resist. I love the show Orange is the New Black. I’m also very fond of orange as a color. Especially if it involves salty, crunchy snacks. And it’s Halloween which is the orangest holiday around. Apparently ‘orangest’ isn’t a proper word. Bygones. Fall is my most favorite season. Especially the month of October where essentially everything is orange. Even my alma mater is Orange. I wonder if that’s a coincidence?

October. The Orangest Month.

In honor of the ‘orangest’ month I decided to make an orange-hued soup. Some may argue that butternut squash is more yellow than orange. But when you toss in a bunch of curry it definitely leans toward orange. Wait, back the soup. This is actually one of the few recipes I have posted that can be altered so that it accommodates any and all my friends. Vegetarian? Got you covered. Vegan. Same. Gluten-free. Gotcha. Paleo. Dairy-free. You can all enjoy this lovely soup. Think about making it for Thanksgiving. Think about making it for lunch. I for one have been eating this soup all week. Thing is soup alone to me isn’t much of a meal. There has to be ‘stuff’ in it. Think broccoli. Rice. Roasted carrots. Sauteed Shrimp. Now it’s a meal. If you’re feeling really hungry. Like you’ve just spent 5 hours cross-country skiing or an hour in the cycling class I take. Make a small salad to go with. Roast some more veggies. Delicata squash. Carrots. Onions. Mushrooms. Toss veggies with some arugula, olive oil and balsamic. Delicious.

This soup is soothing, satisfying and a lovely color. It’s so good that you will want to lick the bowl. Just don’t do that in front of people. Make sure you’re alone. Make some today. Freeze some for later.

Roasted Butternut Squash Coconut Curry Soup

  • 2 tablespoons coconut oil (coconut oil is really, really good for you. buy some. keep it on hand. you can cook with it. use it as a moisturizer. I’m not kidding. not only is this the soup for all people I dare say it’s even healthy.)
  • 2.5 medium (or one really big one) butternut squashes, cut in half and seeded
  • 2 large yellow onions, chopped
  • 1 red pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 4 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 2 inches fresh ginger, peeled and chopped (if you don’t have fresh, use dried. don’t obsess over the fresh ginger.)
  • 1  tablespoon naturally brewed soy sauce (tamari)
  • 1 tablespoon red curry paste (if you’re on the east coast, Wegmans will carry this. if you’re not so lucky I recommend going to your local Asian grocer like Uwajimaya here in PDX)
  • 2 teaspoons garam masala (preferably) or curry powder (I was out of garam masala. I know the humanity. And I couldn’t find it at any store for some bizarre reason. annoying. the curry is just as flavorful)
  • One more thing about the curry…if you’re not a fan, this soup will be just as delish without the curry. Although I for one am a big fan and think everyone should love it as much as I do. This really isn’t about me is it?
  • 1 14 oz. can coconut milk (use full fat, no fat. Even the full fat is the healthy kind of fat.)
  • 2 cups low sodium/no sodium vegetable broth (I see no point in purchasing anything low sodium or no sodium. Seriously???? That’s just plain wrong. . but again this isn’t about me. and I used chicken stock because it’s what I had).
  • salt and pepper to you taste
  • 1 handful cilantro, chopped
  1. Preheat oven to 375F and lightly coat a large cookie sheet with olive oil.
  2. Sprinkle each half of butternut squash with salt and pepper and lay cut side down on cookie sheet. Bake for about an hour until fork tender. Let cool for a bit and peel skin off.
  3. While butternut squash is roasting you can get started on the soup. In a large heavy bottomed pot heat up coconut oil at medium heat. Add in onions, garlic, and ginger and saute till onion turns transluscent (about 8 min.). Add in red pepper, jalapeno, season with salt and pepper and cook for about another 10 minutes (stirring and taking care not to burn).
  4. Add in soy sauce, red curry paste, garam masala/curry powder and stir to coat. Add in coconut milk, veggie broth, and  roasted butternut squash and stir to combine. I used my potato masher to further mash up the butternut squash.
  5. Bring to a boil and simmer for approximately 30 minutes. Puree if desired in batches in blender.
  6. DANGER WILL ROBINSON. DANGER! I know I’ve warned you about the pureeing of hot things and how you must be very, very careful. I am going to do so again. Wearing a welder’s mask and perhaps a Hazmat suit wouldn’t be out of line. I speak from experience. You think I would have learned. But no!! Because I didn’t heed my own warning there was roasted butternut coconut curry soup EVERYWHERE!!! My hair. The ceiling. The living room sofa. 
  7. Once you’ve very, very carefully pureed your soup…Return to pot and add extra broth depending on how thick/thin you want it to be and season to taste. When ready to serve, sprinkle the cilantro over it.

Enjoy. Until next time…Moose out.

Recipe and glorious soup photo courtesy of my most favorite cooking website Food52.

Leave a Reply

