Last Night for Dinner…Mango Glazed Salmon Over a Salad of Mangoes and Couscous

To be totally transparent we didn’t have this for dinner last night. In fact we didn’t even have it for dinner last week. I think it was about 3 weeks ago when I spent some quality time making an awesome, eat it by the spoonful mango marinade. I posted on facebook that I was going to make this for dinner. Facebook friends were excited. Some even wanted to come to dinner. But the flight from the east coast was a bit much for just dinner.

This is yet another recipe where I altered a main ingredient and didn’t pay heed to my own advice regarding blenders and hot liquids.  I aspire to one day make a meal where I’m not picking sauce or bits of rice out of my hair. I don’t see this happening anytime soon.

My first breach of not following the recipe is that I used halibut rather than salmon. For some reason I simply don’t like salmon caught in the Pacific Northwest. It’s not as rich and buttery as the Atlantic Coast Salmon I’m accustomed to eating. Salmon snob. I know. Or perhaps I just haven’t had well prepared salmon here in PDX. Wait, I take that back. My lovely friend J. made an amazing salmon with dill that was all flakey and delicious. Maybe I’m the one with the salmon issues? I hope that halibut isn’t one of those endangered, overly fished fish or I’m going to hear about it from someone.

Take the time to make the marinade. Once it’s complete you’re going to look for reasons to taste it just one more time or find various things that can be dipped into it and eaten over the stove.

Make the marinade ahead of time when you have more time. Serve this with a lovely salad. There will be a recipe for a ‘lovely salad’ soon. Make this for the family. Make it for guests. Everyone will be pleased.

Mango Glazed Salmon Halibut Over a Salad of Mangoes and Couscous

Serves 4

For the mango marinade – Do not let the list of ingredients or time involved intimidate you. Just do it. You’ll be happy you did. There will be leftovers. You can marinate other things in it like chicken.

  • 1 navel orange, peel and all, sliced very thin and then the slices quartered
  • 1/2 of a large lemon, thinly sliced, peel and all, the slices then quartered
  • 3 cups water
  • 3 cups diced mangos (small dice)
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 3 cloves crushed garlic
  • 1 tablespoon grated fresh ginger
  • 1/2 cup soy sauce
  • 1/2 cup rice vinegar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
  • 2 additional tablespoons granulated sugar
  • 2teaspoons sesame oil
  1. In a medium sauce pan place the orange, lemon and water. Bring up to a boil and then simmer for 30 minutes. (This is when you go check facebook or catch up on Project Runway.)
  2. Add the cubed mango and sugar, bring back up to a boil and then simmer for 20 more minutes. Using a potato masher (or something similar), mash the mixture until it’s only a little chunky. (Finish checking email and find out who’s been ‘aufed’ on PR.)
  3. Add the garlic, ginger, soy, vinegar, salt, crushed red pepper, sesame oil and the additional 2 tablespoons of sugar. Bring up to a boil again and then simmer for an additional 5 to 7 minutes. Cool.
For the salad and salmon halibut

  • 4 six ounce skinless salmon halibut fillets
  • 1 1/4 cups pearl couscous
  • 1 3/4 cups water
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 red mango peeled and cut in 3/4 inch cubes
  • 3/4 cups thinly sliced green onions
  • The mango marinade
  • Thinly sliced green onion for garnish (I totally blanked on the thinly sliced green onion for garnish and there’s no way in hell I’m going out just for that.)
  1. Marinate the salmon fillets in 1 1/2 cups of the mango marinade for 1 to 2 hours under refrigeration. After marinating place the fillets with some marinade still on in a baking dish and roast in a 425F preheated oven for 10 to 15 minutes, depending on the thickness of the fillets. Remove from the baking dish and cool.
  2. Bring the 1 3/4 cups water up to a boil, add the salt and couscous and simmer for about 8 minutes or as your package directs. Cool.
  3. Once cooled, mix the couscous with 3/4 cups of the marinade and gently stir in the mango and sliced green onion.
  4. Place 1/4 of the couscous and mango on a dinner plate, top with a piece of salmon and garnish with green onion slices. If you like, offer more of the marinade for “dipping” (Some day I too aspire to ‘plate’ my food in a visually pleasing manner. For now, at this point in the game, I’m done, tired and just want to eat. To hell with ‘plating.’ That is why I’m not on Top Chef.)

Recipe and image from, where else? Food52. Maybe I need to change things up a bit. Is anyone getting bored with their recipes? I’m not, but I know this really isn’t suppose to be about me. 

Enjoy! Until next time…Moose out.

Leave a Reply

