Blown Away by…fishpeople of the Pacific Northwest

It won’t surprise anyone to know that I’m not a big fan of pre-packaged, pre-made meals that you microwave or drop in boiling water. I find something highly sinister and suspicious about a package of food that has a ‘shelf life of 2-5 years! What insidious chemicals are included in that ‘ready to heat’ meal that I can’t spell and I don’t want anywhere near, much less in my body? Seriously. Think about it. Hey, look this Hamburger Helper is good until 2020. Great! Doesn’t that make you the tiniest little bit nervous? If it doesn’t it should.

fishpeople rock!

But I have to say…today I’ve totally changed my tune. One company has erased all my fears and proven that shelf stable can be a good thing and that gourmet and good can come from a pouch in under three minutes. And that company is…fishpeople of the Pacific Northwest.

Let’s just say that I may spend a lot of time in grocery stores. Not just for the samples, but to be around other people. Yes I’ve become that person. I’ve become your grandma who goes to the grocery to have that tiny, nearly non-existent cup of coffee or check out the daily bread samples. Remember I spend quite a bit of time alone and while I talk to the dogs, they still haven’t learned to talk back. For this I probably should be thankful.

So there I am at New Seasons. Behind the sample counter stood  two lovely people serving up something in little white cups. And there were four different choices. And you were allowed to try them all!!! Oh happiness. It’s little things people. And try them I did. I had…(with a bit of rice)

Albacore Tuna in Yellow Coconut Curry

Albacore Tuna in Thai Coconut Lemongrass

Chinook Salmon in a Chardonnay Reduction Sauce

Smoked Chinook Salmon & Sea Oyster Stew (I hope I got the name on that one right. I think it may be new)

Yes, all of these delectable dishes came from a pouch. Granted this is a very special pouch. The fishpeople use an airtight technology and a fraction of the resources of a can or jar to seal in the mouth watering flavors of these dishes. Similar to cooking with either a high-tech clay pot or parchment paper. Oh, but wait there’s more…It’s wild caught, totally sustainable, fresh, the recipes are developed by wildly talented chefs and crazy good. If you’re so inclined you can even track every ingredient in the pouch back to its source. Simply brilliant!

Imagine freshly poached albacore tuna in healthy coconut milk and Madras curry, with hints of fresh ginger, lime juice and butternut squash. From a pouch!!! In 3 minutes!!!

I know I’m gushing. I can’t help it. Please keep in mind that I am not being paid by anyone to write this review. I just love this product line and think everyone should try it. I am going to be the ambassador of good for fishpeople. Hopefully they don’t file some kind of restraining order against me. My intentions are pure.

If you’re here with me in the Pacific Northwest leave the house now. Go and buy one or all of these meals. You can buy fishpeople products at:

New Seasons

Whole Foods

Market of Choice

Food Front

Fred Meyer

If you’re on the East Coast start writing letters telling Danny Wegman that he must put this product in every Wegmans.

If you want to know more about this fab company go to: fishpeopleseafood.com

Until next time…Moose out

One thought on “Blown Away by…fishpeople of the Pacific Northwest

  1. What a wonderful review! From all of us at Fishpeople…thank you! No restraining orders coming from us. 🙂 We are glad you found us, even happier that you liked it, and look forward to sharing our journey with you.

Leave a Reply

