Super Easy. Super Good. Unless You Hate Clams.

Linguine with Clam Sauce

If you hate clams then I should just stop you right here. I suppose you could substitute something else, but then it wouldn’t be Linguine with Clam Sauce. It would be Linguine with something else not nearly as good. This is one of my long time ‘go to’ dishes when I’m too tired to think about what to make for dinner. Or I’m feeling lazy and really don’t want to venture out to one of the gazillion groceries within a 5-mile radius of my house to buy ingredients. The items required to make this dish should be lurking in your pantry for occasions such as this.

I got this recipe from The 5 in 10 Cookbook. 5 Ingredients in 10 minutes or less. (Get this book! It’s full of quick, easy, it looks like it took you hours kind of recipes.) What’s not to love about that concept? Real, fresh ingredients. No cream of something soup was used in the making of this recipe.  Granted I’m quite sure this takes me more than 10 minutes. But not much more. And if I can do it. Anyone can.

Oh, but wait there’s more. Oven Roasted Broccoli to accompany the Linguine with Clam Sauce. It’s a big garlic extravaganza. Love me some garlic!

While I could lie (no one likes a liar) I just can’t. I have to tell you this comes from Rachel Ray’s YUMMO, EVOO website. I’m sure Rachel is lovely. I just find her rather annoying. The fact that one of her claims to fame is that she can carry all the ingredients for a dish on one trip to the pantry, fridge, freezer, etc is a bit much in my book.  YUMMO and EVOO kind of put me over the top. And I’m perfect. My mother would have told me I’m jealous which in fact may very well be true. Who wouldn’t want their own cooking show, talk show, line of cookware, a library of authored cookbooks, boatloads of money and the chance to hang with famous people on a daily basis? But then here I am sharing on of her recipes. Does that make me a hypocrite? Most likely. Anyhoo…I had some organic broccoli from my friend J’s parents organic farm that was just screaming to be roasted. And so I did and it was good.

Without further ado…the recipes…

Linguine

Linguine with Clam Sauce

1 pound linguine

3 garlic cloves (I always use more because who doesn’t want more garlic? And I have that fear of vampires.)

3 tins (10 oz each) baby clams in clam juice (no need to get all fancy here. go ahead and buy those inexpensive tins of clams that you find next to the tuna. If you’re looking to impress someone, you can always add some freshly boiled clams in the shell for final plating.)

3 T butter

2 T flour

In a  large pot of boiling salted water, cook the linguine until tender but firm, 8-10 minutes

Finely chop the garlic

Drain the clams, reserving the clam juice

Melt butter in medium saucepan. Add garlic and cook over medium heat for 1 minute. Stir in the flour and cook, stirring for 1-2 minutes without letting the flour color (if this happens no big deal. just don’t let it burn)

Whisk in the clam juice. Raise the heat to medium-high and bring to a boil, whisking frequently until the sauce is thickened 1-2 minutes. Reduce heat to medium-low. Add clams and simmer for 2 minutes.

Drain pasta and transfer to serving bowl. Pour clam sauce over pasta and toss until well coated.

Serve with crusty bread for dipping and…

Oven Roasted Broccoli

  • 1 head broccoli, cut into pieces all the way through the stem
  • 2-3 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil (I refuse to use the term ‘eyeball it’ or ‘EVOO’.)
  • Salt and freshly ground pepper

Preheat oven to 400°F.

Liberally drizzle olive oil over broccoli, add garlic, salt and pepper, and toss to coat.

Transfer to oven and roast for 15-20 minutes, until broccoli is nice and crispy on the ends and a little brown.

Crazy good. You know I have a thing for roasting vegetables. 

 Enjoy. Until next time…Moose out.
Leave a Reply

