Food I Eat – Double Dragon – Go there now!

They had me at Miso Disco Fries. The name alone is brilliant. How in the world could I pass up something called Miso Disco Fries? Disco. Fries. Miso. It brought me back to the days when I watched Solid Gold with Denny Tario. Not really. But it gave me pause and I wondered whatever happened to Denny and his shiny pants?

Miso Disco Fries

Miso Disco Fries consist of Miso Bacon Gravy, Queso Fresco and skinny little crispy fries. Well the fries are crispy until doused with the Miso Bacon Gravy. Then the fries become a tiny bite of heaven. After inhaling a bowl of the fries I was looking for a spoon so I could get every last bit of the gravy. No spoons. So I made do with a fork. Not particularly effective for the record. While I wanted lick the bowl clean, I had an etiquette moment and decided that just wouldn’t do.

DD1

I came to be at the Double Dragon because Portland Monthly deemed it one of the best bars in PDX. As a result I’ve decided to focus my entire social life on visiting the bars listed in the February 2014 edition of Portland Monthly. That should help the cold winter months pass a bit faster. Oh, who am I kidding, it’s not cold here. We’re not in the midst of a Polar Vortex. Today it snowed for 3 minutes and melted. But I still would like to spend a large amount of time in bars. That should surprise no one.

Magical Elixers

The bar keeps at Double Dragon have joined the ranks of all other PDX bartenders by creating their own syrups, bitters and crazy concoctions.  It’s a PDX thing.

DD Syrup

While I  applaud the creative efforts of PDX bartenders sometimes the whole Bourbon, lemon, lapsang souchong honey, Reganӳ #6 thing seems like overkill. Give me a good old Manhattan and I’ll call it a day. But that’s just me and I don’t think anyone’s overly concerned with my cocktail needs.

I was meeting my lovely, fun, interesting friend K. for Happy Hour. K. is like many others in this fair city, vegan and gluten free. Which makes finding a place where carnivores and gluten free vegans can both enjoy a meal can be a bit of a challenge. Not at Double Dragon!

Pork Belly, Foie Gras & Tofu

I had the Pork Belly and Foie Gras Bahn Mi. I am so glad I don’t live in California where foie gras is a banned substance. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t like the idea of any animals suffering to make foie gras. But for some reason, here in PDX I feel like restaurants serve humanely sourced food stuffs. This Bahn Mi was ridiculous. In a a holy shit kind of way. Pork Belly, Foie Gras, 5-Spice, Apples, Lardo Pickled Daikon and Carrot, Aioli and Jalapeno. One bite and all the Bahn Mi goodness was dripping all over my hands.

Of course K. did not partake in the Pork Belly & Foie Gras Bahn Mi. She ordered an amazing Red Curry Tofu. Tofu, Lemon Grass, Kafir Lime, Red Chili’s served over Rice. When she was done I might have been sneaking bits of rice with remnants of sauce onto my fork. I’m all about the sauce.

The Double Dragon is an unassuming, hip little space. I really want to go back soon to try the Kobe Kimchi Dog. With a side of Miso Disco Fries.

DOUBLE DRAGON is open Tuesday through Sunday, 11:30am-Midnight. Ckosed on Mondays.

Located in SE Portland at 1235 Division St., across from Apex and Los Gorditos.

Images courtesy of the Double Dragon website.

Enjoy! Until next time…Moose out

 
Leave a Reply

